Return to LanScape's home page Go back a page...       Active TopicsActive Topics   Display List of Forum MembersMember List   Knowledge Base SearchSearch   HelpHelp  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Technical Support
 LanScape Support Forum -> LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Technical Support
Subject Topic: Server with no Sound Card... Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
simplikate
Intermediate
Intermediate


Joined: June 20 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Posted: August 17 2007 at 1:15pm | IP Logged Quote simplikate

I am trying to deploy a sample application onto a server for testing, but that server has no sound card installed. I set the EnableInternalAudio to FALSE, in the hopes that the application can run without a sound card. But I am getting the error: SipAudioOutError

We really do not want to have sound cards in our servers - how is it recommended to deploy in an environment without a sound card?
Back to Top View simplikate's Profile Search for other posts by simplikate
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: August 17 2007 at 3:26pm | IP Logged Quote support

simplikate,

The media engine can operate perfectly OK if the host machine has no multimedia audio support installed.

If you are using the sample app code that comes with the media engine, you should be able to locate the following code in the PhoneBase.cpp module:

Code:

if(pCPhoneBase->EnableInternalAudio)
{
     // allow the telephony engine to manage record and playback.
     StartupParams.ZeroBasedAudioIn DeviceId = SIP_USE_PREFERED_AUDIO_DEVICE;
     StartupParams.ZeroBasedAudioOu tDeviceId = SIP_USE_PREFERED_AUDIO_DEVICE;

     StartupParams.AudioRecordBandW idth = AUDIO_BW_PCM_22K;
     StartupParams.AudioPlaybackBan dWidth = AUDIO_BW_PCM_22K;
}
else
{
     // disable telephony engine audio record and playback.
     StartupParams.ZeroBasedAudioIn DeviceId = SIP_AUDIO_DEVICE_NOT_USED;
     StartupParams.ZeroBasedAudioOu tDeviceId = SIP_AUDIO_DEVICE_NOT_USED;

     StartupParams.AudioRecordBandW idth = AUDIO_BW_UNDEFINED;
     StartupParams.AudioPlaybackBan dWidth = AUDIO_BW_UNDEFINED;
}


Setting the pCPhoneBase->EnableInternalAudio value to FALSE will cause the media engine to not use local multimedia hardware.

I hate to have to put you through this but: I think a good idea would be to install your updated product image that is waiting for you in your FTP support account and start from there. As a general rule, to allow the media engine to not use any multimedia hardware, you would set the following startup parameter values:

Code:

     // disable telephony engine audio record and playback.
     StartupParams.ZeroBasedAudioIn DeviceId = SIP_AUDIO_DEVICE_NOT_USED;
     StartupParams.ZeroBasedAudioOu tDeviceId = SIP_AUDIO_DEVICE_NOT_USED;

     StartupParams.AudioRecordBandW idth = AUDIO_BW_UNDEFINED;
     StartupParams.AudioPlaybackBan dWidth = AUDIO_BW_UNDEFINED;



... and that would be it.

Support

Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum






Contact LanScape Hear what the Lawyers have to say How youm may use this site Read your privacy rights