Return to LanScape's home page Go back a page...       Active TopicsActive Topics   Display List of Forum MembersMember List   Knowledge Base SearchSearch   HelpHelp  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Technical Support
 LanScape Support Forum -> LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Technical Support
Subject Topic: why the dtmf generator error happens randomly Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
will
Junior
Junior


Joined: February 07 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Posted: May 17 2005 at 2:38pm | IP Logged Quote will

Dear Support,

we have the following problem:

when we run the build-up excutable of the sample single line phone application(singleLine Phone.exe), sometimes it runs fine, but sometimes with "error detected while creating DTMF generator", in the code, this error is caused by:
"hDtmfGenerator = CreateDtmfGenerator(m_hWnd,DtmfGeneratorCallback,this);"

but the question is why does not the error pop up regularly, the excutable is never changed, we just run it again and again, and there is only one instance running..
very confused.

So we will appreciate it if you could tell us what could be the possible causes.

regards,

will
Back to Top View will's Profile Search for other posts by will
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: May 17 2005 at 2:59pm | IP Logged Quote support


Hi Will,

Not sure why this might be happening. You might want to place a short delay before the dtmf generator is created. Call Sleep(1000) just before the call to the CreateDtmfGenerator() proc and see if that removes the problem.

Support
Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 
will
Junior
Junior


Joined: February 07 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Posted: May 20 2005 at 12:54pm | IP Logged Quote will

Dear support,

thanks to your reply, but tried and it did not work.

Noticed that in the CreateDtmfGenerator(m_hWnd,DtmfGeneratorCallback,this); the m_hWnd and the this pointer are related to the current app and dialog. Tried to trace their value, they were not Null, but suspect they don't have the right value so the application can still run but the DtmfGenerator cannot be created.

Not sure if we are in the right direction, could you please give some hints since there is no detailed explanation of the function "CreateDtmfGenerator " in the SDK doc.

regards,

will
Back to Top View will's Profile Search for other posts by will
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: May 20 2005 at 2:01pm | IP Logged Quote support


Hi Will,

Are you simply using the single line phone "as is" for testing purposes or are you modifying it so that it can be deployed?

I think we have already addressed this DTMF issue but lets do so again.

The DTMF codec that is included with the sample applications is not supposed to be used by end user applications. Period. Be it a single line phone or a multi line phone. The DTMF codec will function in the sample apps as they are installed. But if you start to drastically change the examples, the DTMF codec will eventually figure this out and probably refuse to run. I bet that's what you are seeing.

The DTMF codec can only be used with the samples as they are installed. If you modify the single line phone source code for your own use, that is OK. If you do however, the DTMF support will probably not function.

Here is the link that references the last time we discussed this:

http://www.lanscapecorp.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=39&KW= dtmf

repost as necessary,


Support
Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 
will
Junior
Junior


Joined: February 07 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Posted: May 26 2005 at 12:35pm | IP Logged Quote will

Dear Support,

So basically have you already finished the official release of the DTMF lib, how is the availability now?

And another thing is when the engine starts, some music is played, we want to stop it to save some resource, is it built in the engine or just playing back some music file?

regards,

will
Back to Top View will's Profile Search for other posts by will
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: May 26 2005 at 2:28pm | IP Logged Quote support


Hi Will,

We expect that the LanScape DTMF libraries will be released later this year in 2005. No firm date as of yet however. Sorry :(

To turn off the startup audio "splash" you hear when the VOIP media engine is instantiated, you must modify the StartupFlags member of the START_SIP_TELEPHONY_PARAMS structure that gets passed to the engine.

For example: In the software example code, there is a line in the PhoneBase.cpp module that looks like:

StartupParams.StartupFlags = ENABLE_START_AUDIO_SPLASH;

Change the line of code to:

StartupParams.StartupFlags = 0;



LanScape Support
Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 
will
Junior
Junior


Joined: February 07 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Posted: May 26 2005 at 3:19pm | IP Logged Quote will

dear support,

BTW, is it possible to change the ringing tone also.

thanks,

will
Back to Top View will's Profile Search for other posts by will
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: May 26 2005 at 4:43pm | IP Logged Quote support

Hi Will,

That's a good question. We have had other customers ask about changing the built in telephony sounds of the VOIP media engine. Right now, if you do not want to use the built in sounds, you can shut them all off. See the developer reference on-line help file in the section "Multimedia sounds and execution priority" on how to turn them off.

You application can then supply its own telephony sounds and play them back at appropriate times using the media engine's "Audio output" capability. See the developer reference section "Audio Output media interface" for a description of the audio output API procedures. They are pretty simple to use. You can use multiple software audio outputs from different threads and they will all be mixed before playback by the media engine.

Check it out. It should do what you want. Other customers produce their own custom telephony sounds using this same approach.


LanScape Support
Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum






Contact LanScape Hear what the Lawyers have to say How youm may use this site Read your privacy rights