Author |
|
timkelly1980 Intermediate
Joined: February 07 2005 Posts: 25
|
Posted: February 23 2005 at 3:17pm | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hi.
I want to ignore/bar incoming calls completly on a particular line (my app really wants to use one line for incoming calls another for out).
Any ideas?
cheers,
Tim
|
Back to Top |
|
|
support Administrator
Joined: January 26 2005 Location: United States Posts: 1666
|
Posted: February 23 2005 at 6:08pm | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hi Tim,
That's kind of a cool feature. I can see how that might be handy in an effort to simplify application logic. I have logged an engineering change notice so that this idea might be considered for a future release.
What I would suggest is this:
All network phone lines you want reserved for outgoing calls, place them into the "busy out" state. That way no incoming calls will be assigned to those lines.
When your app wants to make an outgoing call, it will have to put the line back into service (your application will take the line out of the "busy out" state).
For complete details regarding how to do this, please see the BusyOutLine() API procedure.
The BusyOutLine() proc changes the internal state of a phone line fast so if you take the phone line out of the busy out state and immediately make a phone call using either the MakeCall() or MakeCallUri() procs, the chances of you receiving a call on the line you are using will be almost nill.
If you really want to make this technique hardend, add additional logic to your outgoing call code so you could answer a possible incoming call and terminate it immediately. That way you can use the line.
Its just like your phone at home. If you want to call out, you have to hang up on anyone trying to call you so you can place your call. :)
Let us know what you end up implementing.
LanScape Support.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
timkelly1980 Intermediate
Joined: February 07 2005 Posts: 25
|
Posted: February 24 2005 at 4:19am | IP Logged
|
|
|
Sounds like a good plan.
I really am impressed by the engine so far but as you pointed out being able to setup 1 line for incoming and another for outgoing would make app logic much easier (in my scenario anyway)
I am writing call centre software, and it would be nice for the client to be dialing on line 1 and detect incoming calls on line 2.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
timkelly1980 Intermediate
Joined: February 07 2005 Posts: 25
|
Posted: March 24 2005 at 6:44pm | IP Logged
|
|
|
Just wondering if you ever got any feedback from the engineer on this?
I am thinking of upgrading to the multi-line version.
Cheers,
Tim
|
Back to Top |
|
|
support Administrator
Joined: January 26 2005 Location: United States Posts: 1666
|
Posted: March 25 2005 at 6:49am | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hi Tim,
We re-checked with our software guys. No word yet on if your product suggestion will be added to a future release or when the next release date is. Sorry :(
The developers reiterated the previous suggestion: lines you want to only use for outgoing calls be placed in the "busy out" state until your application decides to make a call.
LanScape Support Staff
|
Back to Top |
|
|