Return to LanScape's home page Go back a page...       Active TopicsActive Topics   Display List of Forum MembersMember List   Knowledge Base SearchSearch   HelpHelp  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Pre-Sales Technical Support
 LanScape Support Forum -> LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Pre-Sales Technical Support
Subject Topic: VB.NET example question - will not start media engine. Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
simplikate
Intermediate
Intermediate


Joined: June 20 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Posted: August 01 2007 at 6:28pm | IP Logged Quote simplikate

I am having an issue while running the sample code for your VB.net example for the DotNetSupport. I replaced the latest DLL, and the LanScapeVME.vb file with the one provided for my installation.

I have two problems:

1) The sample code shows the following:
"MediaEngine.InitializeMediaEngine(0)"

however, the InitializeMediaEngine method takes two parameters, not one - so the sample fails right off the bat. To solve this, I just declared two UInteger vars and placed them like so:
"MediaEngine.InitializeMediaEngine(0,0)"   -- and it seems to work.

I then try to continue and encounter a second problem...

2) I set the StartParams, and enter my host into the area where I enter my host information:
IpAddressOfThisHost(0) = 192
IpAddressOfThisHost(1) = 168
IpAddressOfThisHost(2) = 1
IpAddressOfThisHost(3) = 39

and leave all other paramters to default. Once I get to the point where it looks for SipSuccess,
ie:

status = MediaEngine.StartSipTelephony(StartParams)
if status <> VoipMediaEngine.TELEPHONY_RETURN_VALUE.SipSuccess then
Console.WriteLine("StartSipTelephony() Error.")

I am getting the following error code back: "SipUnknownHost {4}"

The documentation on the media engine says that this can be a UNC or DNS issue, but I am specifying the IP addres, and this is for sure my local IP address. I also tried setting it to 127.0.0.1 - but no luck. There are no other hosts I am supplying - please advise.
Back to Top View simplikate's Profile Search for other posts by simplikate
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: August 01 2007 at 7:12pm | IP Logged Quote support

The InitializeMediaEngine() proc you have figured out. you just had to specify a default stack size using the second parameter.

I think the call to StartSipTelephony() is failing because you have left the default settings for the "event log server" enabled. Look in the code for the following 3 lines:

Code:

public EnableEventLogServer as Boolean = True
public EventLogServer as String = "ps"
public EventLogServerPort as Int32 = 19001



Either set the EnableEventLogServer to False or set the EventLogServer value to you IP address or host name.

There are other changes you may have to make (like using a SIP proxy) but you should be able to locate these as you step through using the debugger.

Support
Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 
simplikate
Intermediate
Intermediate


Joined: June 20 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Posted: August 01 2007 at 7:26pm | IP Logged Quote simplikate

Yep! That was it. Once I set the values to the sipLog and eventLog servers it worked perfectly. Thanks!
Back to Top View simplikate's Profile Search for other posts by simplikate
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum






Contact LanScape Hear what the Lawyers have to say How youm may use this site Read your privacy rights