Return to LanScape's home page Go back a page...       Active TopicsActive Topics   Display List of Forum MembersMember List   Knowledge Base SearchSearch   HelpHelp  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Technical Support
 LanScape Support Forum -> LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Technical Support
Subject Topic: Changing Caller ID Per Phone Call Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
ajdiaz
Junior
Junior


Joined: December 10 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: February 14 2008 at 10:57am | IP Logged Quote ajdiaz

I am making outbound calls, one after the other. I want to be able to change the caller ID the user sees per phone call I make. I see the the caller ID is set on the Start Parameters PhoneName and PhoneDisplayName. Can that be changed programatically per phone call I make? If not, how else can I accomplish this?

Thanks.

AJDiaz
Back to Top View ajdiaz's Profile Search for other posts by ajdiaz
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: February 14 2008 at 11:39am | IP Logged Quote support

Hi aj,

The API proc you want is the SetPhoneName() procedure. You can call this anytime before making your outbound calls. It will change the “user name” (which is the same thing as the extension number) in the SIP INVITE message that gets transmitted. For example, the SIP fields in RED are all effected by the SetPhoneName() proc:

Code:

INVITE sip:555@ps SIP/2.0
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 192.168.1.2:5066;rport;branch=z9hG4bK00f7a09f
From: "Test Phone" <sip: MyPhoneName@ps>;tag=f787a3;x-UaId=xxxxx-yyyy-zzzzzz
To: <sip:555@ps>
Contact: <sip: MyPhoneName @192.168.1.2:5066>;x-inst="VGVzdCBDYWxsIERhdGEgZnJvbSB0aG UgVlBob25lIGFwcC4="
Call-Id: e510c6ed-0d36-4fd3-834d-1f9d53c7bd1f-00000610@192.168.1.2
CSeq: 16202022 INVITE
Max-Forwards: 70
Organization: 2456E5FD-DC94-417D-BDF7-55A654EFB9E5
x-CustomHeader-Extension-333: "This is a modified transmitted SIP message."
x-PhoneLine: 0
Content-Length: 244
User-Agent: LanScape VOIP Media Engine/5.12.8.1 (www.LanScapeCorp.com)
Allow: INVITE, ACK, OPTIONS, BYE, CANCEL, SUBSCRIBE, NOTIFY
Content-Type: application/sdp

v=0
o=MyPhoneName 16201875 16201875 IN IP4 192.168.1.2
s=LanScape
c=IN IP4 192.168.1.2
t=0 0
m=audio 20004 RTP/AVP 18 101
a=rtpmap:18 G729/8000/1
a=rtpmap:101 telephone-event/8000/1
a=sendrecv
a=fmtp:18 annexb=no
a=ptime:20
a=fmtp:101 0-16




Altering the “display name” (shown above in blue) however cannot be changed. If you want to do that too, let us know and we will make the appropriate changes to the media engine and get you a temporary product image for your development.


Support

Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: February 29 2008 at 1:09pm | IP Logged Quote support


Update:
The media engine v5.12.8.1 now supports a new API proc that allows apps to set the phone line display name at any time.

Code:

TELEPHONY_RETURN_VALUE SetPhoneDisplayName(
    SIPHANDLE hStateMachine,
    int PhoneLine,
    char *pPhoneDisplayName
    );




Support

Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 
ajdiaz
Junior
Junior


Joined: December 10 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: December 04 2009 at 10:04am | IP Logged Quote ajdiaz

Hi Support,

Can you let me know if this feature was ever implemented? The ability to change the "display name".

In the example described above, the "Test Phone" part.

We are getting end users that are receiving phone calls from us that say "800 Service".

Thanks.

-Alex
Back to Top View ajdiaz's Profile Search for other posts by ajdiaz
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: December 04 2009 at 10:16am | IP Logged Quote support

Hello Alex,

Yes, the SIP “phone name” and the “display name” (optional) can be changed for each individual phone line as needed. You do this by calling the following two procedures before making a call:

SetPhoneName()
SetPhoneDisplayName()

If you want, each individual phone line the media engine supports can be assigned the same phone name (i.e. extension number) or all unique different phone names. The same applied to the display name of each phone line.


Thank you,

Randal


Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum






Contact LanScape Hear what the Lawyers have to say How youm may use this site Read your privacy rights